Four open seats on the HWRSD school committee
Nomination papers due back by Feb. 22

Our schools have had a fabulous run these past several years, thanks to visionary leadership from the superintendent and his team and thoughtful oversight from our seven-member school committee.

Now — in a situation that is unprecedented — a majority of the seats on the school committee are up for election at the same time: Three 3-year terms and one 1-year term.

Will you consider joining the school committee at this important juncture?

While citizens from all walks of life have served in the past — from grandparents to recent high school graduates — it’s especially important to have parent voices on the committee as it considers standardized testing, the School District Master Plan and facilities upgrades in the coming year.

It’s not hard to run for election. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Go to the school district’s main office on 5 School Street (next to Buker) between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. to pick up nomination papers.
  2. Take the nomination papers to your town hall (Wenham or Hamilton) and have the town clerk sign them to certify that you are a registered voter.
  3. Ask 40 registered voters of either Hamilton or Wenham to sign the papers. Often this part takes only a day or two — bring the papers with you to school pickup or dropoff, sports practice or your evening trip to Crosby’s. If you need help gathering signatures, send us a message via our contact form ( — we’re here to help!
  4. Return the papers to the school district office (not town hall) by 4 p.m. on Monday, February 22.
  5. The town and state election is April 7, 2016.

If you have questions about what it’s like to be a member of the school committee, any of the current members would be happy to answer your questions and share their experiences.

Lawrence Swartz, Chairperson
[email protected]

Deborah Evans, Vice Chairperson
[email protected]

Stacey Metternick, Secretary
[email protected]

Dennis Hurley, Assistant Secretary
[email protected]

Jeanise Bertrand, Assistant Treasurer
[email protected]

Hannah Fraley
[email protected]

Emily Madden
[email protected]

Leave a Reply